Template ID = ML353 intTaglineX = 17 intTaglineY = 500 tagline_font = Arial tagline_font_color = #000000 intFontSize = 10 newPhoneNum =

Follow Us:



Dr. Rebecca Yorke

Rebecca Yorke, MD, Pathology

Years experience

Over ten years in practice.


  • Rice University (B.A.,1984-88)
  • University of Texas, Galveston (M.D., with honors, 1993-97)
  • University of Texas, Galveston (internship, Internal Medicine, 1997-98)
  • Baylor College of Medicine (residency, Anatomic and Clinical Pathology 1999-2003; fellowship, Cytopathology, 2003-04)

Board certifications

Diplomate, American Board of Pathology: Anatomic Pathology, Clinical Pathology, Cytopathology

Publications and Editorships

  • Gomez P, Yorke R, Ayala AG, Ro JY. Solid-pseudopapillary neoplasm of pancreas with long delayed liver metastasis. Ann Diagn Pathol. 2011 Jun 3
  • Yorke R, Younes A, Chirala M, Younes M. Receptor activator of nuclear factor kappa B (RANK) is expressed as a late event during malignant progression in Barrett’s metaplasia. European J Cancer 2003.
  • Yorke R, Chirala M, Younes M. C-kit protooncogene product is rarely detected in colorectal adenocarcinoma. J Clin Oncol 2003; 21:3885-3886.
  • Yorke RF, Rouah E.  Nocardiosis with brain abscess due to an unusual species, Nocardia transvalensisArch Pathol Lab Med. 2003 Feb;127(2):224-6.
  • Williams-Bouyer N, Yorke R, Lee HI, Woods GL.  Comparison of the BACTEC MGIT 960 and ESP Culture System II for growth and detection of mycobacteria. J Clin Micro. 2000; 38, 4167-4170.
  • Yorke RF. Informed evaluation of pathology residency programs: a guide for pathology resident candidates. Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2000; 124, 853-858.
  • Medical editor, Diagnostic Pathology: Cytopathology, ed. D. Mody, Amyrsis (in print, 2014)
  • Section editor, Cytopathology, Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (2014)


Awards and recognitions

  • 2013- Presidential Award, Texas Society of Pathologists
  • 1997-William L. Marr Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine
  • 1997- Gold-Headed Cane Award Finalist: One of eight graduating medical students peer-selected for dedication to the interests of patients
  • 1997 - American Medical Women’s Association Glasgow Memorial Award
  • 1996- Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society
  • 1995-Most Outstanding Clinicopathologic Correlations, UTMB Pathology
  • 1988-1993 -Merit-based Graduate Scholarship, Rice University


  • College of American Pathologists

  • Texas Medical Association
  • Texas Society of Pathologists
         January 2014-present: Treasurer
         2013-January 2014: Board of Directors, Director at Large
         2012 Young Pathologists’ Section Chair (Chair-elect 2011, Secretary 2010)
  • Harris County Medical Society
  • Houston Society of Clinical Pathologists
         President 2009-10 (Secretary 2008-09, Sponsorship Coordinator 2006-08)